Monday, July 15, 2013

RCotD #214

Random Card of the Day #214:

Ovinomancer - 2U
Creature - Human Wizard
When Ovinomancer enters the battlefield, sacrifice it unless you return three basic lands you control to their owner's hand.
{T}, Return Ovinomancer to its owner's hand: Destroy target creature. It can't be regenerated. That creature's controller puts a 0/1 green Sheep creature token onto the battlefield.

Alright so right off that bat, we got 3-cost 0/1 with a drawback. It bounces 3 lands THAT MUST BE BASIC to your hand or it dies. Luckily, it's effect is a recurring Pongify, except... wait, it bounces itself AS PART OF THE COST! YOU CAN'T EVEN TWIDDLE THIS TO MAKE INFINITE SHEEP.

However, Lolzor has mentioned that if all your creatures have haste or for some reason you have Thousand Year-Old Elixir, it can respond to it's own land-bounce ability and be a recurring sorcery speed Pongify for 2U.

Best part about this card: there is an official judge ruling that contains the phrase "and will result in no sheep". This card is so bad it doesn't even combo with Goatnapper

Official Judge Ruling:
10/4/2004 Can target itself. This will cause it to be returned to your hand during announcement and will result in no sheep since it will not be on the battlefield at resolution so the effect fails since it target is illegal.

Constructed: 1/5
Limited: 1/5
Judge ruling: 5/5

No comments:

Post a Comment